Board of Appeal


Left to right: Anna Konstantinou, Giuseppe Godano, Bob Wessels, Juan Fernandez-Armesto, William Blair, Beata Maria Mrozowska, Marco Lamandini, Arthur Docters van Leeuwen, Pat McArdle, Noel Guibert, Lars Afrell, Katalin Mero

The Board of Appeal is a joint body of the European Supervisory Authorities (EBA, EIOPA and ESMA) together called the "ESAs". It has been introduced to protect effectively the rights of parties affected by decisions adopted by the Authorities.

Although its secretariat is supported by the Authorities, the Board of Appeal is fully independent.

Articles 58 and 59 of the EBA, EIOPA and ESMA Regulations (the ESAs' Regulations) provide for the establishment of an independent and impartial Board of Appeal of the three ESAs.

The Board is responsible for deciding on appeals against certain decisions of the Authorities according to Article 60 of the ESAs' Regulations.

The decisions of the Board of Appeal can themselves be appealed to the Court of Justice of the European Union, as set out under Article 61 of the ESAs' Regulations and specific sectorial legislation.

Under Article 58(8) of the ESAs' Regulations, the Authorities provide operational and secretarial support to the Board of Appeal through the Joint Committee, a body which is also established by the ESAs' Regulations.