​​The Board of Appeal is composed of six members and six alternates , who were appointed by EBA, ESMA and EIOPA respectively in 2011, as required by the ESAs' Regulations.

The members are individuals with a proven track record of professional experience in the fields of banking, insurance, occupational pensions and securities markets or other financial services, and with the necessary legal expertise to provide expert legal advice in relation to the activities of the Authorities.

Current staff of the national competent authorities, or other national, or Union institutions involved in the activities of the ESAs are not eligible for service on the Board of Appeal.

In 2012, the Board of Appeal elected William Blair as President and Juan Fernández-Armesto as Vice-President, in accordance with the ESAs' Regulations.

The members and alternates of the Board of Appeal are:


Sir William Blair (Member, UK), Professor of Financial Law and Ethics, Queen Mary University of London

Giuseppe Godano (Alternate, Italy), Retired and former director of Bank of Italy; at present lecturer in Cassino University

Katalin Mero (Member, Hungary), Associate professor, Department of Finance and Accounting, International Business School, Budapest

Pat McArdle (Alternate, Ireland), Retired, formerly Chief Economist and public servant, now economic consultant and non-executive director


Juan Fernández​-Armesto (Member, Spain), Arbitrator, formerly Chairman of the Spanish Securities and Exchange Commission

Lars Afrell (Alternate, Sweden), Senior Vice President, Swedish Securities Dealers Association

Marco Lama​ndini​ (Member, Italy), Professor of Company and Securities Law, University of Bologna

Niamh Moloney (Alternate, Ireland), Professor of Financial Markets Law, London School of Economics


Beata Bartkiewicz​-Mrozowska (Member, Poland), Legal Counsel, DLA Piper

Michele Siri (Member, Italy), Jean Monnet Professor of EU Financial and Insurance Markets Law, University of Genoa

Anna Konstantinou (Alternate, Greece), Legal Adviser and General Director of the Motor Insurers' Bureau of Greece

Bob Wessels (Alternate, Netherlands), Professor of International Insolvency Law, Leiden University